Continuing the Crook County News Since 1884

Healy shortlisted for Wyoming Supreme Court

One of the Sixth Judicial District Court’s three judges has been selected as a nominee to fill a vacancy on the Wyoming Supreme Court.

The Honorable Stuart S. Healy III is among three names to have been submitted by the Judicial Nominating Commission, along with Robert C. Jarosh and Timothy M. Stubson.

The commission considered all applicants who expressed interest in the position of Justice for the Wyoming Supreme Court and, pursuant to the requirements of the Wyoming Constitution, submitted three nominees to Governor Mark Gordon for his consideration.

The governor is expected to announce his decision in the latter part of January.

The vacancy exists due to the retirement of Justice Keith G. Kautz, which will be effective on March 26. The position will be filled the next day.

To serve as a Supreme Court Justice, an applicant must be learned in the law, have been in the actual practice of law or a judge of a court of record for nine years, be at least 30 years of age and be a citizen of the United States and a resident of Wyoming for the past three years.

The Judicial Nominating Commission is chaired by Chief Justice Kate M. Fox and also includes three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar and three non-lawyers appointed by the governor.

Rendered 04/11/2024 17:38