Continuing the Crook County News Since 1884

Peek at the Past

100 Years Ago

March 15, 1923

Marshall Engineering company, Deadwood, $40,600. A.W. Ostlund, Gillette, $7,188. These are the successful bidders for the Crook County High School job, which will be pushed to a finish this summer. The Marshall company, through E.R. Leaverton, presented the lowest bid for construction and material for the building. Mr. Ostlund takes the job of plumbing and putting in the heating plant. Mr. Link, of the firm of Link & Haire of Billings, who drew the plans for the building, has been retained as supervising architect.

It will be noted in the proceedings of the county commissioners in this issue that Mrs. Alta Sluss was appointed county librarian. This office has been held by the county superintendent, but the recent legislature passed a law requiring superintendents to act as truant officer, with added salary for the new duties, therefore the library duties could no longer be discharged by the school officer. Mrs. Sluss has substituted on the library work until she is thoroughly familiar and will be very acceptable to the patrons.

J.W. Zane and family wish to thank Mrs. Leslie Hooper for her timely warning, also the firemen and citizens of Sundance for their quick response Tuesday morning when the hotel caught fire.

75 Years Ago

March 11, 1948

For their contributions toward the feeding of deer in the Moskee vicinity, Amos Ewing , president of the Crook County Wildlife Association, Tuesday expressed the desire to thank the people of Moskee through the columns of this newspaper. Ewing said that because off the deep snow in that vicinity and the inability of the deer to get to their feed, they were starving to death when the people of Moskee came to the rescue by buying hay for them.

If arrangements can be worked out, R.M. Bernd, director of the Sundance school band, plans to have a “massed” band to direct at the annual Old Settlers Picnic at Devils Tower this coming summer. Bernd would like to have approximately a 90 piece band composed of members of the Sundance, Upton and Newcastle bands.

Those big fish on Sand Creek really do grow big and as positive proof Nels Smith brought us a Lochlaven trout Monday that had been trapped in the creek on his ranch on Sand Creek. The piscatorial beauty weighed 16 pounds, live weight with container, and measured 24 inches.

50 Years Ago

March 8, 1973

Wanda Hejde was elected president of the Sundance FHA chapter during the monthly meeting of the chapter. Five members of the chapter will be attending the state convention in Cheyenne. Attending will be Wanda Hejde and Sheila Nussbaum, voting delegates; Kathy O’Haver, who will be running for district secretary; Colleen Necklason and Bonnie Kipp, district vice chairman who will preside at the district meeting.

Crook county schools placed five men on the Northeast Class B all-tourney team after the tournament closed at Moorcroft Saturday night. Sundance’s Allen Bailey was named to the all-tourney team as were Moorcroft’s Kirby Duvall and Chris Jespersen and Hulett’s Gary Storie and Pat Nacey. Other players named to the team were Roy Mathis and Jerry Hunt, Upton; Eric Lofgren and Mike Hille, Midwest; and Don Roush, Clearmont.

25 Years Ago

March 12, 1998

According to the original plan, the Crook County Commissioners would make a final decision on Old Stoney bids on April 8. As the final matter of business on March 4, however, the Commissioners decided to reject all bids for the property. The move was necessary due to the fact the original solicitation for bids contained faulty legal descriptions of the property being sold. The corrected solicitation should be ready for publishing sometime in the next four to six weeks. Once republished, new bids will be accepted and acted on by the Commissioners.

The names of honorees for the 1998 2A Northeast All-conference teams have been announced. Sundance athletes nabbed five spots. On the girls’ team, Callie Hilty and Heather Johnson were selected from Sundance. For the boys team Allen Humphrey and Kirk McLaughlin were honored. Zach Miller received honorable mention.