Sundance Times - Continuing the Crook County News Since 1884

Crook County cowboys inducted into hall of fame

Inductees include Ed Cooper, Kenneth Canfield, Frank Svalina and Straitor Clark


September 16, 2021

Jeff Moberg

Kenneth Canfield's plaque was accepted by his daughter Linda Moberg.

A handful of Crook County's finest cowboys were inducted into the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame (WCHF) during the Hall's annual celebration last weekend in Cheyenne. Due to the pandemic-related postponement of last year's event, this year's event celebrated honorees from the 2020 and 2021 classes.

Jeff Moberg

US Senator John Barrasso presents Ed Cooper with his Hall of Fame plaque during Saturday's ceremony at the Little America Hotel in Cheyenne.

Crook County's 2020 inductees included Ed Cooper of Sundance and the late Kenneth Canfield. Former Crook County residents Aldin Reynolds and Butch Reynolds were also officially entered into the hall.

On Sunday, Oshoto's Frank Svalina and the late Straitor Clark of Sundance were both honored, as was Sherry Reynolds as part of the 2021 class.

Established in 2012, the WYCHF is made up of board members from each of ten regions within the state. The group aims to "To preserve, promote, perpetuate, publish and document Wyoming's working cowboy and ranching history through researching, profiling and honoring individuals who broke the first trails and introduced that culture to this state. WCHF plans to collect, display and preserve the stories, and photos of such individuals and anything else that will honor and highlight their contributions to our history."

Information regarding nominations and previous inductees is available at


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021